Books

We read blogs and stuff people. I get it. We interact through open journals and what not. I’ve just recently started enjoying this myself, and being open even in the middle of a rant while picking up chinese food (previous post) but I was wondering what everyone reads.

i_like_big_books_square_sticker_3_x_3

I’ve read very lately, yet I’m a writer. Thinking about it it makes little sense, but I guess you could say I’ve been on a spiritual transition and it’s taken a toll on me.

After transitioning to atheism I understood I had wasted quite a bit of time, and well I would like to spend the time coming back into the driven lifestyle to maybe address the issue of spiritual versus practical thinking.

I’m deciding to write a book on the subject, and maybe if I really feel up to it a video series, but I don’t want the videos to be directly about me, I would rather have a series that talks about the subjects or even discusses ideas and topics through entertaining tales of adventure and discovery.

Thats what my first book will be like. I’m currently at 87K words and counting. 352 pages. IT’s been a long journey and I am about 3 months overdue from when I started at the end of september and beginning of october. However I have a lot of material to work on, over a full novels worth, so the garbage that is there can be shined to a good polish to hold at least 50K and I know I have a lot more, about a whole other third of the book to write.

It’s becoming quite the slice of life picture, but of another world, where ethnic and religious rituals are so different they seem obscure and absolutely alien. Where as cultural similarities and motivations will hold true for the main character I can use the alien world to craft a strange kind of abstract symbolism.

It’s a great idea from what I can tell and I’m using it in such a way that I can still tell a convincing story about people growing strong and old without worrying so much about the intricacies. There are similarities in just the right ways to evoke familiarity and then oddities that simply juxtapose the way we look at our own current events and cultural quirks.

It’s something that I was overjoyed with in the Game of throne books when reading through the eyes of a character. I could feel the world was real and crafted by man.

So I wish to recreate that effect but ten fold whilst telling a story I feel reflects the coincidental and arid quality of lives occurrences.

I’m just wondering if anyone actually reads books or has finished one in a while. I read every once in a while. I usually enjoy philosophical is not spirited and passionate books that speak of the conditions with live with and the ways to strive passed them peacefully or with grace. Thats simply my favorite mood and tone. Style wise I’m up for almost anything, I can read the mindless angst of twilight, the insights of Marcus Aurelius, or the latest issue of scientific America… with a TED talk not too far behind.

I also like reading blogs, but lately I’ve actually been keeping up with people. Maybe it wont stick like all the other times. Or maybe I’ll actually have something to talk about that isnt flights of fancy.

Talk about it